Postponed Voting In Remal-Affected Upazilas Underway

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Country's 19 Remal-affected upazilas voting has commenced. Voting began at 8 am on Sunday and will continue till 4 pm. The Election Commission (EC) has completed all preparations to make the elections peaceful.

Meanwhile the voting of Remal affected upazilas are: Koyra, Paikgacha, and Dumuria in Khulna; Sharankhola, Morelganj and Mongla of Bagerhat; Gournadi and Agailjhara of Barisal; Patuakhali Sadar, Mirzaganj and Dumki of Patuakhali; Mathbaria of Pirojpur; Tajumuddin and Lalmohan of Bhola; Rajapur and Kathalia of Jhalkathi; Bamana and Patharghata upazilas of Barguna and Khaliajuri of Netrakona.

Earlier, Election Management Branch officials said that all preparations for the 19 upazila polls, postponed due to Cyclone Remal, have been completed. The members of law and order forces have taken a position in the center. Members of RAB, BGB police, and other forces are patrolling the polling area.

119 people are contesting for the post of chairman, 132 for the post of vice chairman, and 79 for the post of female vice chairman. In the election, 3 million 46 thousand 88 voters are getting the opportunity to exercise their right to vote in 1 thousand 181 centers.

The Election Commission has been conducting polling in upazilas of the country step by step since May 8, which will end on June 9. However, due to the non-expiration of the term in some upazilas, elections will be held next year.

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2024 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh