JCD announces new committee

Fazlur Rahman Khokon and Iqbal Hosen Shyamol have been newly elected as the president and general secretary of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal respectively.

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, the student body of BNP, held polls for electing its president and general secretary after 27 years in line with a court injunction regarding its council.

At the polls held last night, Fazlur got 186 votes to win the post of president, whereas his closest contestant received 178, JCD sources said.

Iqbal won the post of general secretary with 139 votes, whereas his closest rival got only 78 votes.

The voting began at BNP standing committee member Mirza Abbas’ house around 8:40pm and continued until 12:30am. Several hundred JCD Councillors from its 117 units across the country gathered there to vote.

Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and M Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary of JCD through direct voting in 1992.

The JCD’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary, and it was dissolved on June 3.


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dahaka-1207

© 2021 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh