By-Elections to 5 JS Seats: AL Parliamentary Board Meets Today

A Parliamentary Board meeting of the Awami League (AL) will take place on Sunday to select the party members for the by-elections to five seats in the parliament.

The constituencies of the JS — Dhaka-18, Dhaka-5, Pabna-4, Sirajganj-1 and Naogaon-6—fell vacant after the deaths of five AL lawmakers.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will preside over the meeting at her official Ganabhaban residence at 4:30 pm, the deputy secretary of the party's office, Sayem Khan, said.

However, since most parliamentary nominating board members are elderly, the meeting will take place on a small scale to avoid corona risk, he said.

Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Abul Hasanat Abdullah, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Kazi Zafarullah, Obaidul Quader, and Rashidul Alam are members of the ALPB.

In five by-elections a total of 141 candidates have collected nomination papers for the party to compete. There are on average 28 members proposed for each constituency.

34 people collected nomination forms for Naogaon-6, three for Sirajganj-1, 28 for Pabna-4, 20 for Dhaka-5 and 56 for Dhaka-18, according to the AL office.

Pabna-4 by-election will be held on September 24 and Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-elections will be held on October 17. However, by-elections in Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 constituencies have been postponed by 90 days.


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dahaka-1207

© 2021 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh