BNP, Like-Minded Parties to Stage Nationwide Rally Wednesday

Image: Collected

Image: Collected

BNP and other like-minded opposition parties, alliances and organisations are set to hold rallies in Dhaka and other divisional cities and district towns on Wednesday as part of the simultaneous movement to oust the current government, reports UNB.

The organisers said the programme is meant for registering a protest against the introduction of one-party BKSAL rule by Awami League on this day in 1975, the rise in the prices of power and gas and mounting pressure on the government to accept their 10-point demand, including holding the next polls under a non-party caretaker government.

As part of the programme, BNP will arrange a rally in front of its Naya Paltan central office in Dhaka. The rally scheduled to begin at 2pm will be addressed by party Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and other senior leaders.

Mirza Fakhrul is also likely to announce a countrywide rally and demonstration programme for February 4 as the next course of action for their simultaneous movement from the rally.

It will be the fourth programme of the simultaneous movement after the mass procession on December 30, the sit-in on January 11 and the rally and procession on January 16.

Apart from BNP, Ganatantra Mancha will hold the programme in front of the National Press Club at 11:30am, while the 12-Party Alliance near Bijay Nagar Water Tank at 3pm, Jatiyatabadi Samamona Jote in front of the National Press Club at 3pm, LDP at FDC  Crossing at 2pm, and Ganatantrik Bam Oikya in front of the Press Club at 11am.

Though Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami joined the mass procession programme with BNP and other parties on December 30, the Islamist party has not been joining the subsequent programmes of the simultaneous movement due to a reported misunderstanding with BNP over some political issues.

Jamaat sources said the party is unhappy with BNP as it did not issue any statement over the arrest of the amir of the Islamist party and the police attack on the party leaders and activists in the capital on December 30 while observing the mass procession program.

BNP senior leaders will take part in the rally on Wednesday in different divisions.

As per the plan of BNP, Standing Committee members Gayeshwar Chandra Roy will lead the programme in Barishal division, while Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury in Chattogram, Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku in Rajshahi, vice-chairmen Barkat Ullah Bulu in Gazipur, M Shahjahan in Cumilla, AZM Zahid Hossain in Sylhet, Shamsuzzaman Dudu in Mymensingh, Advocate Ahmad Azam Khan in Rangpur, Netai Roy Chowdhury in Khulna, joint secretaries general Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal in Rangpur and Habibun Nabi Khan Sohel in Faridpur.

In a press release, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul urged the country’s people and the leaders and activists of BNP to make the programme a success with their spontaneous participation.

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2023 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh