PM inaugurates Community Bank for police members

Desk report

Published: 11 Sep 2019, 12:52 pm

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has inaugurated the Community Bank Bangladesh Limited (CBBL), an entity of Bangladesh Police Welfare Trust.

The premier inaugurated the bank through teleconference from Ganabhaban at 11:06 am on Wednesday. 

Inspector-General of Police and also the Chairman of CBBL Dr. Mohammad Jabed Patwary, Managing Director Moshiul Haque Chowdhury and top officials of police and the bank were present during this time. 

The bank’s activities will be run in six branches, including the principal branch, along with the headquarters at Gulshan Police Plaza.

Like other scheduled banks, this bank will have account opening, and all services, including provide the loan, and will remain open to everyone. 

The policemen will be the shareholders of this bank. Community Bank’s dividend will go to the Police Welfare Trust’s account. After three years, Police Community Bank will be share market enlisted bank.

On Nov 1, 2018, the Community Bank of Bangladesh was listed by the central bank. Bangladesh Police started to collect Tk 4 billion through welfare trust to establish the bank.

Previously, Shimanto Bank was established for the Border Guards Bangladesh, BGB, in the format of the Army’s Trust Bank.

Chief Editor: Eliash Uddin Palash | Publisher: Nahida Akter Zahedee

Editor, Online: Arshad Siddiqui | Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dahaka-1207

Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh