3 Constituencies' By-polls on July 14

Desk Report

Published: 02 Jun 2021, 07:13 pm

Nirbachon Bhobon, Agargaon, Dhaka || Photo: Collected

Nirbachon Bhobon, Agargaon, Dhaka || Photo: Collected

The Election Commission (EC) announced to hold by-polls to three parliamentary constituencies on July 14 amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

EC Secretary Mohammad Humayun Kabir Khandaker declared the election schedule on Wednesday at a press conference at the media center of the EC office in the capital's Agargaon.

The date for submitting nomination papers for the by-polls in Sylhet-3, Dhaka-14, and Cumilla-5 constituencies is June 15.


The papers will be examined by returning officers on June 17, and the deadline to withdraw candidacy is June 23.


Following the death of ruling Awami League MP Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury on March 11, AL MP Aslamul Haque's death on April 4, and AL MP Abdul Matin Khasru's death on April 14, the seats of Sylhet-3, Dhaka-14, and Cumilla-5 became vacant.

Chief Editor: Eliash Uddin Palash | Publisher: Nahida Akter Zahedee

Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dahaka-1207

Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh