Mominul, Yasir Deliver Gazi Group Victory

Mominul Haque || Photo: Collected

Mominul Haque || Photo: Collected

Gazi Group Cricketers secured a 35-run victory against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in the last match of the super league phase of Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (DPL), riding on a half-century from Mominul Haque and Yasir Ali at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

Mominul Haque struck an unbeaten 53-ball 78, hitting 11 boundaries while Yasir was also not out after blasting 56 off 24, which included four fours and as many sixes.

The duo shared 113 off just 57 balls in an undefeated fifth-wicket stand as Gazi Group Cricketers compiled a hefty 184-4, their highest total in the league.

Opener Mahedi Hasan gave them the flying start, hitting 27 off 17 but Gazi Group experienced a mini-collapse before Mominul and Yasir pair lifted the side to a mammoth total.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club however was bowled out for 149 in 18 overs. Imrul Kayes was the highest scorer for the side with 33 ball-45, studded with one four and three sixes. Tanbir Hyder made 29 while Ziaur Rahman scored 11.

Pacer Mohiuddin Tareq claimed 3-22 for Gazi Group Cricketers while Sanjit Saha and Mahedi Hasan bagged two wickets apiece.

By virtue of this victory, Gazi Group finished at the fourth spot in the league while Sheikh Jamal ended with fifth place. Earlier Abahani became champions of the league, winning the hattrick title and Prime Bank Cricketers finished as runners-up.

 Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club occupied the third spot and Mohammedan Sporting Club finished sixth.

Source: BSS


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dahaka-1207

© 2021 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh