Three Bangladeshi Cricketers in LPL Auction

LPL Champion Trophy || Photo: Collected

LPL Champion Trophy || Photo: Collected

The popularity of franchise tournaments have been increasing across the world over time. 'Big Bash' in Australia, 'IPL' in India, 'PSL' in Pakistan and 'BPL' in Bangladesh have been held for a long time in T20 format. In continuation of that, the Lankan Premier League (LPL) is being held in Sri Lanka with local and foreign cricketers for the last three years.

The fourth season of LPL is set to start on July 30. Three Bangladeshi cricketers have been named in the players' draft of the upcoming tournament. They are Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das and Afif Hossain.

Along with Shakib-Litton, foreign players in the list include Matthew Wade, Shaun Marsh, Darcy Short, Usman Khawaja, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Wahab Riaz, Paul Sterling, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert, Daryl Mitchell, Doug Bracewell, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Gerard Erasmus.

It is known that the cricketers can register their names in this draft of the Lankan League till May 15 and the auction will be held on June 4. After that, the LPL matches will be held at Colombo and Kandy venues from July 30.

There are a total of five teams in this season of LPL. These include Galle Gladiators, Dambulla Ora, Jaffna Kings, Colombo Strikers and Kandy Falcons.

LPL chief executive Dodanayla says, 'We are very excited about the start of another season of the Lankan Premier League. We are not ready to stage the tournament. We are hopeful of presenting a very successful tournament with the combination of local and foreign star cricketers.'

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2023 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh