Bangladesh Beat Sri Lanka By 2 Wickets In T20 World Cup

Bangladesh Beat Sri Lanka By 2 Wickets In T20 World Cup. Photo: Collected

Bangladesh Beat Sri Lanka By 2 Wickets In T20 World Cup. Photo: Collected

Bangladesh got off to a winning start in the ongoing T20 World Cup as the Tigers beat Sri Lanka by two wickets in their Group D encounter at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas today. Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by two wickets with six balls remaining in a nervy finish in their T20 World Cup Group D clash at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas on Saturday (June 8).

Bangladesh restricted Sri Lanka to 124 for the loss of 9 wickets after they won the toss and elected to field first in their first game of the T20 World Cup 2024.

Rishad Hossain’s career-best T20I bowling effort and Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman’s outstanding bowling display helped Bangladesh restrict Sri Lanka to 124-9 in 20 overs.

Left-arm paceman Mustafizur Rahman (3/17) and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain (3/22) led the way for the men in red and green, while right-arm pacers Taskin Ahmed (2/25) and Tanzim Hasan Sakib (1/24) also played their part.

After Rishad Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman claimed three wickets each to restrict Sri Lanka to 124 for nine, Hridoy smashed a 20-ball 40 and Liton Das played a sensible 38-ball 36-run knock to see Bangladesh over the line in 19 overs. 

The Lankans, asked to bat first, posted 53 for the loss of two wickets at the end of the powerplay but then lost their way in the face of some controlled bowling by the Tigers.

Sri Lanka appeared on course for a strong total at 100-3 in 14 overs. However, successive breakthroughs by Bangladesh’s bowlers limited them to a modest score.

For Sri Lanka, opener Pathum Nissanka was the top scorer with 47 runs off 28 balls, featuring seven fours and a six.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto had won the toss and opted to bowl.

Sri Lanka, who are looking to bounce back from their opening game defeat to South Africa, opted to make one change to their batting line-up with Dhananjaya de Silva coming in for Sadeera Samarawickrama.

Bangladesh are playing their first game of the tournament after an unimpressive warm-up campaign saw them lose a three-game series to the USA and then lose by 60 runs to India.

It was Hridoy and Liton who helped Bangladesh recover from the early slump, stitching together a quickfire 63-run fourth-wicket stand. Hridoy was looking unstoppable, with the right-hander smoking Sri Lanka skipper Wanindu Hasaranga for three successive sixes -- two in the midwicket region and one over cover -- in the 12th over. However, Hridoy was trapped in front in the very next delivery as he failed in his attempt to sweep Hasaranga. 

Earlier, Bangladesh bowlers did a magnificent job to restrict Sri Lanka to a modest total following their flying start which saw them score 53 for the loss of two wickets in the Powerplay. Pacers Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur, and young leggie Rishad got wickets at crucial junctures as Sri Lanka could only score 24 runs in the final six overs. 


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tanzid Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Das (w), Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (w), Kamindu Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana.

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2024 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh