AL Candidate Becomes MP Uncontested In Natore-4 Seat

Siddiqur Rahman Patwari || Photo: Collected

Siddiqur Rahman Patwari || Photo: Collected

Awami League candidate Siddiqur Rahman Patwari is poised to secure an uncontested victory in the Natore-4 vacant seat by-election. He was the only candidate on the last day of submitting nomination papers.

The returning officer of the by-election Md. Moin Uddin Khan informed this on Sunday (September 17).

The nomination paper submission deadline expired at 4 pm on that Sunday, with only Awami League candidates having submitted their nominations. No further nominations will be accepted. The selection of nomination papers is scheduled for Monday, and if the selection is valid and the candidature remains unwithdrawn, Siddiqur Rahman Patwari will be officially declared the uncontested winner in accordance with the law and regulations, as stated by the returning officer.

The Natore-4 constituency became vacant following the unfortunate passing of the former Member of Parliament (MP) for Natore-4, Md. Abdul Quddus, who fell ill after a rally in Natore on August 26 and subsequently passed away on August 30 while receiving treatment in the ICU at a hospital.

In response to this vacancy, the Parliament Secretariat declared the seat vacant, and the Election Commission set the polling date for October 11. The schedule allows for appeals against the decision made by the Returning Officer to be filed from September 19 to September 21. The appeal disposal date is set for September 23, the last date for withdrawal of candidature is September 24, and symbol allotment is scheduled for September 25.

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2023 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh