Narayanganj and Satkhira to Get Public University

Cabinet Division || File Photo

Cabinet Division || File Photo

On Monday, the Cabinet approved the drafts of two laws to set up two more science and technology universities in Narayanganj and Satkhira.

The titles of the laws are “Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, Narayanganj Act, 2023’ and “Satkhira Science and Technology University Act, 2023.”

The approval came from the Cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at her office here in the city, reports UNB.

Cabinet Secretary Md. Mahbub Hossain briefed reporters at the Bangladesh Secretariat after the meeting.

There are now 54 public universities in the country. A proposed law has recently been approved in the cabinet to set up another public university.

So, the number of the country’s public universities would be 57 with these two. Besides, there are 113 private universities in the country.

Moreover, the Cabinet cleared a proposal to amend Section 2 (Cha) of the non-government primary school teacher (determination of job conditions) Rule, 2013 to extend the deadline for the teachers of 26,193 primary schools nationalized in 2013. With the new deadline, the teachers will have to fulfill the conditions by December 2025.

The meeting in principle approved the draft of the National Primary Education Academy Act of 2023.

The cabinet took a decision to create opportunities for students who are pursuing higher studies to do internships in government institutes alongside private organizations.

The cabinet also approved the draft of the Plastic Industry Development Policy 2023.

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2023 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh