Bangladesh Thrashes Ireland by 10 Wickets to Clinch ODI Series

Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das left the field after confirming dominating 10 wickets victory over Ireland || Photo: Collected

Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das left the field after confirming dominating 10 wickets victory over Ireland || Photo: Collected

Bangladesh sealed their first-ever 10-wicket victory in ODIs when the Tamim Iqbal-led side thrashed Ireland in the final match of the three-game series at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

The second ODI of the series was washed out by rain after Bangladesh posted their highest-ever ODI total of 349/6. Bangladesh won the first match by 183 runs, their highest-ever win in terms of runs.

In replying to Ireland's 102/10, Bangladesh chased it down in 13.1 overs without losing any wickets. Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das were aggressive from the beginning. They did not feel pressure and Ireland's bowlers could not challenge them. Tamim remained unbeaten scoring 41 off 41 and Liton Das scored 50 off 38 not out.

Brilliant performance from pacers trio Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed, and Ebadot Hossain favored Bangladesh to bowl Ireland out for 101 runs in 28.1 overs in the series-deciding third ODI at Sylhet today. Pacers Hasan Mahmud took five wickets for 32, his career-best, Taskin Ahmed bagged 3 for 26 and Ebadot Hossain picked up 2 for 29.

After winning the toss Ireland skipper Andy Balbirnie opted to bat first at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium today.

Paul Sterling and Stephen Doheny opened the innings for the team. From the beginning, the two started playing cautiously. Bangladesh got success in the fifth over of the innings as Doheny got dismissed scoring 8 runs off Hasan Mahmud. Then Irish captain Andrew Balbirnie came to bat at number three.

Hasan Mahmud struck twice in the Irish camp in the ninth over of the first power play. He took the wickets of Paul Stirling (7) in the first ball and trapped Harry Tector to leg-before for naught.

After coming to bowl in the tenth over, Taskin Ahmed defeated Irish captain Andy Balbirnie (6). He returned giving a catch to Liton Das at third slip in the second ball of the over.

Ebadat Hossain gave the fifth and sixth breakthroughs to Bangladesh picking up the wicket of Lorcan Tucker 28 off 31 and George Dockrell (0) in the fifth and sixth ball of the 19th over to reduce Ireland 68/6.

Taskin Ahmed increased the owes further taking the wickets of Andy McBrine (1) and Mark Adair (0) of the first and third balls of the 22nd over of the innings.

Curtis Campher 36 off 48 got out as the 9th batter off Hasan Mahmud in the second ball of the 27th over of the innings when Ireland were 96/9.

Hasan Mahmud picked up the wicket of Graham Hume (3) to complete his first-ever fifer. He finished 5/32 in 8.1 overs._Agencies

Subscribe Shampratik Deshkal Youtube Channel


Shampratik Deshkal Epaper


Address: 10/22 Iqbal Road, Block A, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207

© 2023 Shampratik Deshkal All Rights Reserved. Design & Developed By Root Soft Bangladesh